Fulbright Scholars strengthen research ties to United States

Fulbright Scholars 2022
2022 Fulbright Scholars, top row from left to right: Dr Kelly Atkins, Nicholas Harvey-Doyle, Johannes Janssens; bottom row from left to right: Professor Timothy J. Lynch, Dr Alexandra Murphy, Michael Traeger.

Six University of Melbourne graduates and affiliates have been named 2022 Fulbright Scholars, boosting Australia and United States (US) research collaborations in international relations, public health, medical science and improving cultural diversity in media.

The scholarships support professional development opportunities in the US and promotes cultural and educational exchange between the US and Australia.

University of Melbourne Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International) Professor Michael Wesley said  the Fulbright Scholars represented the peak of ability in their fields and celebrated their achievements.

“We are proud to see our graduates and affiliates join in the Fulbright Scholars program, with a legacy of strengthening Australia-US academic and cultural ties,” Professor Wesley said.

“Congratulations to our Fulbright Scholars for 2022, I wish them every success for their important work.”

This year’s Fulbright Scholars are:

  • Dr Kelly Atkins - a researcher and clinical neuropsychologist, Dr Atkins will work with delirium experts at Weill Cornell Medicine to adapt a delirium prevention program for the American context. She will translate her findings into a large Melbourne tertiary hospital to improve perioperative healthcare in Australia.
  • Professor Timothy J. Lynch – A professor in American Politics at the University of Melbourne, Professor Lynch’s Fulbright Scholarship at the University of Wyoming will explore the nature of ‘red state’ foreign policy.
  • Dr Alexandra Murphy – a cardiologist at Austin Hospital and lead physician in the Cardio-Haematology service, Dr Murphy will conduct an international trial in New York City of the smartphone based cardiovascular risk reduction program ‘BreastMate’ to care for the cardiac health of women with breast cancer.
  • Nicholas Harvey-Doyle - A descendant of the Anaiwan People from the New South Wales Northern Tablelands and Account Director for a First Nations social change and communications agency, Mr Harvey-Doyle will examine the intersection of media, culture and communication through a global lens to understand how these cyclical relationships can be better managed to dismantle systemic racism in mainstream media to create a more culturally diverse and inclusive Australia.
  • Johannes Janssens - Undertaking PhD research to better understand how sugar metabolism defects damage the heart muscle of people living with diabetes, Mr Janssens will work at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles under the direction of proteomics expert Professor Jennifer Van Eyk.
  • Michael Traeger – A researcher at the Burnet Institute analysing surveillance data to examine epidemiological trends in infectious diseases to evaluate large-scale public health interventions, Mr Traeger will work at the Boston Fenway Institute under the supervision of world-renowned HIV researcher Professor Kenneth Mayer to explore the impact of HIV prevention drug (PrEP) on behavioural epidemiology and related health outcomes among sexual and gender minority populations.

Two United States Fulbright Scholars, Shellaina Gordon and Grace Wright, have also been selected to study at the University of Melbourne.