Celebrating our top women influencers

Twelve University of Melbourne alumnae have been shortlisted in the Australian Financial Review and Westpac 100 Women of Influence Awards 2016.

Gillian TriggsThe awards recognise the contribution of women who through their work, help to shape a vibrant, inclusive, economic and social future for Australia.

Alumnae nominated for this year's awards come from a diverse range of organisations. Congratulations to:

  • Human Rights Commissioner, Gillian Triggs (LLB 1967, PhD 1982, Janet Clarke Hall and International House)
  • Asialink CEO, Jennifer McGregor AM (BA(Hons) 1974, GDipEd 1981)
  • Immunologist and lab head at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Dr Misty Jenkins (BSc (Hons) 2001, PhD 2007)
  • CEO of Thirst and athlete, Mina Guli (LLM 1999)
  • President of UN Women Australia, Elizabeth Shaw (BA 2004)
  • Professor of Psychology and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at University of Sydney, Philippa Pattison AO (BSc (Hons) 1973, PhD 1980)
  • Director of family violence and service delivery reform at the Department of Premier and Cabinet, Maria Katsonis (BCom 1983)
  • Associate Professor of Music at Australian National University, Susan West (BMus 1997)
  • Executive Director of the Victorian Women's Trust, Mary Crooks AO (BA (Hons) 1972, MA 1978)
  • Clinical Director of Alcohol and Drug Service, St Vincent's Hospital, Sydney, Dr Nadine Ezard (MB BS 1992, BA 1995)
  • Founder of Breast Cancer Network Australia, Lynette Swinburne AM (GDipMvmt&Dance 1982)
  • CEO and co-founder of Project Rockit, Lucy Thomas (BCA(Hons) 2004, GDipPsych 2011)

See the full list of the AFR's 100 Women of Influence 2016