Fifth cohort of Hansen Scholars join the University of Melbourne

2024 Hansen Scholars
The 2024 Hansen Scholars with Vice-Chancellor Professor Duncan Maskell and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Pip Nicholson (top left) and Hansen Little Foundation co-founder Paul Little AO and Hansen Scholarship Program Director Dr Gayle Allan (top right). Photo credit: Drew Echberg

Eighteen students from across Australia have been awarded the 2024 Hansen Scholarship, the University of Melbourne’s most generous and broad-based undergraduate scholarship.

The annual scholarship is awarded to high-achieving students who demonstrate a commitment to helping and leading others, and experience financial or other barriers to studying at the University of Melbourne.

The scholars will be supported with a full scholarship for the duration of their bachelor’s degree at the University of Melbourne. They will also receive a living allowance, mentoring and pastoral care, academic, cultural, career and other development opportunities, and free accommodation in a purpose-built student residence, Little Hall.

As a national program, the students come from six states and all represent secondary schools which have not previously had a Hansen Scholarship recipient.

“Ensuring young people can attend university based solely on merit rather than means is one of the priorities of our Foundation. The program, now in its fifth intake year, has clearly demonstrated how these students can thrive as they optimise their time with us in a range of ways, as well as identifying and pursuing ambitious career paths upon graduation. All they need is the opportunity!” said Jane Hansen AO, Program Patron and University of Melbourne Chancellor.

“These exceptional young Australians in the 2024 cohort have each demonstrated resilience, determination and a sense of community spirit as well as achieving outstanding academic results.”

Hansen Little Foundation co-founder Paul Little AO and Vice-Chancellor Professor Duncan Maskell presented certificates to the 2024 Hansen Scholars at a ceremony on the Parkville campus.

Congratulating the 2024 cohort, Professor Maskell thanked the Hansen Little Foundation for their continuing generous support of the Hansen Scholarship.

“These scholarships mean that these 18 impressive young people who otherwise would have facedsignificant hurdles to attending university can now access a transformative education at the University of Melbourne.

“Like the cohorts before them, I have no doubt these students will embrace the opportunity which has been provided to them by the vision and generosity of Jane Hansen and Paul Little.”

Among this year’s cohort is:

  • An Australian champion ballroom Dancer
  • An attendee at NASA's Space Camp in the United States
  • A team leader in the Disabled Surfers Association
  • A winner of a BHP Science and Engineering Award, for designing and engineering an F1 car using Computer-Aided Design
  • A debating and public speaking coach with the Debating Association of Victoria

The 2024 Hansen Scholars are:

  • Ananya Chaudhary, Santa Maria College, VIC
  • Lushomo Chinganya, Edinburgh College, VIC
  • Jacqueline de Mamiel, Camberwell Girls Grammar School, VIC
  • Maya Farmer, Toormina High School, NSW
  • Madison Greco, The Mac.Robertson Girls' High School, VIC
  • Nimisha Kulkarni, The Mac.Robertson Girls' High School, VIC
  • Grace Liu, Perth College Anglican School for Girls, WA
  • Jane Luu, St Monica's College Epping, VIC
  • Lachlan Miegel, St John's Grammar School, SA
  • Haisong Qi, North Geelong Secondary College, VIC
  • Alexandra Sim, Loreto Mandeville Hall, VIC
  • Ivan Sokolov, Mater Dei Catholic College , NSW
  • Danielle Spratling, Broadford Secondary College, VIC
  • Jennifer Taylor            , Wesley College, VIC
  • Madeleine Way, Balcombe Grammar School, VIC
  • Hannah Whillance, Bendigo Senior Secondary College, VIC
  • Chelsea Wiramanaden, Narre Warren South P-12 College, VIC
  • Mingqian Zhou, A.B. Paterson School , QLD

For more information about the Hansen Scholarship, visit the website.