“Resilience and grit”: Top VCE students awarded scholarship

The Chancellor's Scholars for 2021.
The highest achieving VCE school leavers for 2021 celebrate earning Melbourne Chancellor's Scholarships.

After a challenging final two years of school spent mostly learning from home, the highest-achieving VCE students were today offered a Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship to study at the University of Melbourne.

The Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship offers students a generous, HECS-exempt Commonwealth Supported Place in one of the University’s undergraduate degrees, and for Victorian secondary school leavers a $5000 annual allowance for the duration of their undergraduate degree.

University of Melbourne Provost Professor Nicola Phillips congratulated the new scholars, saying that the resilience and grit of this year’s VCE cohort was admirable.

"I’m delighted to celebrate the academic success of these outstanding students with a scholarship offer to mark their achievement and invite them into the richness and diversity of our student community in the new year,” Professor Phillips said.

“I also want to thank teachers and parents for all they have done in supporting students’ academic success with the shift to online learning in Victoria and New South Wales, playing a critical role requiring a lot of hard work and ingenuity.

“We thank our school teachers and families for their efforts to make sure all students continued to learn through such a challenging year.”

The majority of the University’s coursework subjects in Semester 1, 2022 will have full in-person class options available, and a range of activities and events are being planned to help students get involved in university life, connect with others, and feel at home on campus in the new year.

One of the most generous in Australia, the Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship offers students a guaranteed pathway into graduate study, including the Juris Doctor (Law), Doctor of Medicine and many other of our Melbourne professional entry graduate programs.

Scholars from interstate will receive a HECS-exempt place as well as an annual allowance of $10,000 over the duration of their undergraduate degree.

Students will also receive a Melbourne Global Scholar’s Award of up to $2500 for an approved period of overseas study experience.

Students who achieved an ATAR or equivalent of 99.9 or above are offered a Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship, as are Bachelor of Music applicants who achieved an ATAR or equivalent of 99.85 or above and Indigenous students who gained an ATAR of 90.00 or above.

This year the University was ranked number one in Australia for the twelfth straight year in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings.

VCE students offered a Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship today who gave permission for their names to be published included:

Ryan Ahl - Scotch College

Matthew Alizzi - Ballarat Clarendon College

Nicola Anderson - Methodist Ladies College

Alexandra Atcheson - Methodist Ladies College

Aaliyan Azeem - Melbourne High School

Ellen Bennett - Methodist Ladies College

Zara Boubouras - Presbyterian Ladies' College

Andres Buritica Monroy - Scotch College

Mitchell Cann - Vermont Secondary College

Kelvin Cao - Melbourne Grammar School

Angus Cha - Melbourne Grammar School

Anthony Chen - Melbourne Grammar School

Harry Chen - Melbourne High School

Jason Chi - Scotch College

Benjamin Churilov - Kilvington Grammar School

Tyson Doan - Scotch College

Zak Doyle - Maribyrnong Secondary College

Natalie Eu - St Margarets School

Sicheng Fan - Scotch College

Edmund Fang - Scotch College

William Flintoft - Melbourne Grammar School

Peter Frangos - Melbourne Grammar School

Yevin Gamlath - Melbourne High School

Alexandra Girski  - Huntingtower School

Daniel Greenham - Haileybury College

Darcy Hammond - Peninsula Grammar

Angel He - Melbourne Girls Grammar

Belinda Huang  - Lauriston Girls School

Sachin Iyer - Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School

Kartik Iyer - Balwyn High School

Isabelle Jenkins - Carey Baptist Grammar School

Joshua Jinu - Westbourne Grammar School

Robert Joseph - Nossal High School

Alayna Kennedy - Drouin Secondary College

Hayley Kerekes - Haileybury Girls College

Lasya Kondur - Mac.Robertson Girls' High School

James Lam - Haileybury College

Justin Lee - St Leonard's College

Alexander Lew - Camberwell Grammar School

Caifei Lin - Kambrya College

Eechan Liu - Mac.Robertson Girls' High School

Haoran Liu - Trinity Grammar School

Lorraine Luo - Mac.Robertson Girls' High School

William Mccann - Scotch College

Julian Mcintyre  - Williamstown High School

Duvin Nambuwasam - Haileybury College

Jeremy Nielsen - Haileybury College

Aidan Petrowski - Emmaus College

Jonathan Purcell - John Monash Science School

Hong Sheng Quah - Melbourne High School

Mila Rennie Galvin - St Michael's Grammar School

Joshua Rotstein - Mount Scopus Memorial College

Luke Sdralis - Carey Baptist Grammar School

Thomas Shaddock - Braemar College

Benjamin Shaw - Braemar College

Reuben Steen - Aquinas College

Harry Sun - Haileybury College

Rachel Tan - Mount Waverley Secondary College

Vy Vu - Brunswick Secondary College

Gabrielle Walker - Methodist Ladies College

Ming Wong - Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School

Jiaying Ye - Fintona Girls School

Jeffrey Yew - Melbourne High School

Raymond Zhang - Haileybury College

Wilson Zhu - Camberwell Grammar School