Academics recognised for their impact on the health and wellbeing of Australians

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS) has elected 37 new Fellows in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the health and medical community in Australia.

Among the new Fellows are 13 from the University of Melbourne and partner institutions including Professorial Fellows and former leaders within the Melbourne Biomedical Precinct.

University of Melbourne Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) James McCluskey welcomed the announcement of the Fellows and emphasised the strength of Australian medical research reflected in these appointments.

“I congratulate all those individuals who are at the core of finding new and better ways of treating diseases,” Professor McCluskey said.

“The University is proud to support our key leaders and we acknowledge their tireless efforts, with all of them having excelled in their own fields in their unique ways. This is wonderful recognition of their achievements in medical research and strengthens one of our most important learned academies.”

The new Fellows are:

Professor Ian Anderson FAHMS, Deputy Secretary Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet and formerly Pro Vice-Chancellor (Engagement) and Foundation Chair in Indigenous Health

Professor Gabrielle Belz FAHMS, Laboratory Head, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Professor Kim Bennell FAHMS, Professor and Director, Centre for Health, Exercise and Sports Medicine, University of Melbourne

Professor John Carlin FAHMS, Group Leader, Data Science and Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Murdoch Children's Research Institute and Professorial Fellow at the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health

Professor Sean Grimmond FAHMS, Director, Cancer Research, University of Melbourne

Professor Cheryl Jones FAHMS, Head, Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne

Professor Jonathan Kalman FAHMS, Director, Cardiac Electrophysiology, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Professor Shitij Kapur FAHMS, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, University of Melbourne

Professor Anne Kelso AO FAA FAHMS, Chief Executive Officer, National Health and Medical Research Council and former Director of the WHO Collaborating for Reference and Research on Influenza at the Doherty Institute and Royal Melbourne Hospital

Professor Stephen Kent FAHMS, Laboratory Head, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Doherty Institute, University of Melbourne

Professor Marc Pellegrini FAHMS, Division Head, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Professor Kelly‚ÄźAnne Phillips FAHMS, Consultant Medical Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Professor David Thorburn FAHMS, Genetics Theme Director, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute.