Top VCE students offered Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship

Group photo of some of the highest-achieving VCE students in the University of Melbourne campus.
Congratulations to Victoria’s highest-achieving VCE students. Image: Casamento Photography

Many of Victoria’s highest-achieving VCE students were today offered a Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship to study at the University of Melbourne next year.

The Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship offers students a generous, HECS-exempt Commonwealth Supported Place for domestic students, or a 50 per cent fee remission for international students, in one of the University of Melbourne’s undergraduate degrees.

Domestic scholars from interstate will receive a HECS-exempt place as well as an annual allowance of $10 000 over the duration of their undergraduate degree and domestic Victorian secondary school leavers will receive a $5000 annual allowance for the duration of their undergraduate degree.

Students will also receive a Melbourne Global Scholar’s Award of up to $2500 for an approved period of overseas study as an Exchange or Study Abroad student.

Students who achieved an ATAR or equivalent of 99.9 or above are eligible, as are Bachelor of Music applicants who achieved an ATAR or equivalent of 99.85 or above and Indigenous students who gained an ATAR of 90.00 or above.

University of Melbourne Provost Mark Considine congratulated the students and said the 2019 Chancellor’s Scholars would also have access to the Melbourne Accommodation Program which provides an accommodation guarantee for all eligible undergraduate students who are new to Melbourne.

“We are very excited to be able to offer students one of the largest and most comprehensive scholarship programs in Australia, enabling us to provide young achievers with a world-class education enriching the existing academic community,” Professor Considine said.

“From 2019 eligible students can also apply for the University’s new accommodation at 303 Royal Parade, or one of the many other purpose-built accommodation options available with just a single application.

“This program makes it easy to find and apply for high-quality, secure, student accommodation within walking distance of the Parkville campus.”

Students must have studied an Australian Year 12 curriculum or International Baccalaureate in Australia. The award is also available for Australian citizens who have studied an Australian Year 12 curriculum or IB outside Australia.

VCE students offered a Melbourne Chancellor’s Scholarship today include:

Harry Amad (Xavier College)
Phoebe Bear (Korowa Anglican Girls' School)
Jake Brown (Camberwell Grammar School)
Emily Cao (Haileybury Girls College)
Samuel Cato (St Kevin's College Toorak)
Angela Chau (Ruyton Girls' School)
Naman Chaudhry (Haileybury College)
Kevindu De Silva (Haileybury College)
Adam Dingli (St Bede's College)
Nicholas Farmer (Scotch College)
Sarah Gigante (Melbourne Girls Grammar)
Yifan Guo (Glen Waverley Secondary College)
Casey Haseloff (St Patrick's College)
Austin Haynes (Melbourne Grammar School)
Jason Hu (Scotch College)
Hanyi Huang (Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar School)
Aayushi Khillan (Macrobertson Girls High School)
Lachlan King (Melbourne Grammar School)
Charles Li (Camberwell Grammar School)
Justin Lim (Balwyn High School)
Simon Liu (Melbourne High School)
Anton Lu (Xavier College)
James Macaulay (Penleigh And Essendon Grammar School)
Jerry Mao (Caulfield Grammar School)
Xavier Morgan Schlicht (Xavier College)
Christina Le Nguyen (Macrobertson Girls High School)
Isobel Nicholls (Melbourne Girls Grammar)
Pablo Pleydell (Melbourne Grammar School)
Yunyun Ran (Macrobertson Girls High School)
Joseph Rowan (Princes Hill Secondary College)
Emmy Sawires (Caulfield Grammar School)
Simon Seddon (Buckley Park College)
Sahar Shavit (Bialik College)
Yen Sim (Melbourne Girls Grammar)
Christopher Sparks (Scotch College)
Qiao Wen Tee (Nossal High School)
Isabella Tolhurst (Albert Park College)
Sean Tse (Scotch College)
Alysha Wanigaratne (John Monash Science School)
Ziang Wei (Scotch College)
Joshua Yong (Scotch College)
Connie Zhang (Korowa Anglican Girls' School)
Haoyang Zhong (Melbourne High School)