Queen’s Birthday Honours at Melbourne

More than 60 University of Melbourne alumni, staff and members of the broader University of Melbourne academic community received recognition in the recent Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Eliz Finkel University of Melbourne Among those honoured were four alumni and staff who received Australia's highest honour, the Companion of the Order of Australia (AC).

  • Professor Brian D Anderson AC
  • Laureate Professor Alan D Lopez AC
  • Professor David Solomon AC
  • Dr Ian J Watt AC

Many more alumni and friends were recognised for their distinctive contribution to scholarship and the wider community including:

  • Professor Doug Hilton (BSc 1986, PhD 1990), Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, was awarded an Order of Australia (AO) for his work in advocacy for gender equality in science and supporting early career researchers
  • Dr Elizabeth Finkel (PhD 1984), editor-in-chief of Cosmos magazine, received a Member of the Order (AM) for her work in science communication and support of a range of not-for-profit organisations (pictured)
  • Dr Bernadette Tobin (BA 1966, MEd 1977, MA 1983) was awarded an AO for her work in education, philosophy and bioethics

full list of alumni and staff who received honours is available.

Congratulations to all honours recipients on their outstanding achievements.