Trusts at the University

Collective responsibility


At the University, the establishment and administration of trusts involves:


Faculties and non-academic departments

For each trust of which the University is the trustee, the relevant Faculty or the relevant non-academic Department:

Deans, Heads of Departments, General Managers, Advancement Officers, Faculty / Department Trusts Officers, and Scholarships & Prizes Officers:

Non-academic Departments responsible for some of the University's trusts include the Melbourne Scholarships, Murrup Barak - Melbourne Institute for Indigenous Development, Student Financial Aid, Melbourne University Sport, The Ian Potter Museum of Art, Melbourne Theatre Company and International House.


Advancement Office

Staff in the Advancement Office with responsibility for trusts-related issues, including Alumni and Donor Relations, and Gifts and Bequests:

Governance & Compliance

The Trusts Group:

The Special Counsel is responsible for certifying University trust records on behalf of the University.


Legislation and Trusts Committee

With respect to trusts, this committee:

University Secretary's Department

The University Secretary’s Department:

Finance & Planning Group

The Management Accountant (Trusts), and Budget and Investment Officers:

Internal Audit Office

Within the University the Internal Audit Office provides an independent appraisal of the internal controls, and assessments of the University's operations and activities, including the management and administration of trusts.



The Vice-Chancellor is responsible for the proper administration and performance of all trusts and other funds involving fiduciary obligations as reflected in University University trust records, including certifying to the Council of the University annually whether or not, in his opinion, these obligations are being performed in accordance with the law and in proper fulfilment of their terms.



Legal Advice Disclaimer | Privacy

top of page