Industry accreditation

The International Standard for Certification of Condition Monitoring Personnel ISO18436 and the Standard for Certification of Non-Destructive Testing Personnel AS3998/ISO9712 are the two standards under which you can be certified under as a Thermographer.

How to achieve certification

The following steps need to be completed:

  • Successfully complete the necessary training course (Category 1 or Category 2) and related assessment with the University of Melbourne
  • Complete necessary work experience in Thermography (for AINDT accreditation, see the AINDT website for the required practical experience)
  • Apply to undertake the third party examination ( AINDT -CMCB examination or BINDT examination)
  • Pass the third party examination
  • Apply to the Industry body for Certification.

For AINDT , if you have not obtained the required amount of work experience in Thermography to meet the requirements of Certification, you can become a Trainee until you have accrued enough relevant work experience.

Infrared Training Centre (ITC)

The Infrared Training Centre (ITC) at the University of Melbourne provides high-quality interactive thermography training from qualified international thermography instructors. The ITC offers infrared training, certification, and recertification in all aspects of infrared thermography use.

The University of Melbourne is the only centre in Australia that has a trainer qualified to deliver ITC Category 2 programs. All curriculum is kept current and aligned with developments in technology and changes in certification requirements and industry standards by the Infrared Training Centre located in Sweden.

ITC prepares thermographers for a third party certification exam in compliance with national and/or international standards. ITC training and examination verifies that a thermographer can:

  • Operate an infrared camera
  • Collect quality data
  • Produce professional infrared inspection reports
  • Understand the techniques and limitations of infrared thermography for specific applications

To successfully complete the Category 1 and 2 requirements of ITC certification, students must participate in the required amount of face to face training, produce a small report on a thermal image/problem, and pass the ITC examination with at least 75% pass mark. A successful outcome provides students access to sit the third party examinations.

Accrediting bodies

Australian Institute for Non Destructive Testing (AINDT)

The Australian Institute for Non-Destructive Testing (AINDT) is a technical society with a national and international reputation for excellence.

They aim to provide members, certificate holders, industry and the community with an independent and professional level of service in relation to the science and practice of non-destructive testing and condition monitoring.

AINDT offers certification for non-destructive testing and condition monitoring and is only one of two national societies to offer accredited certification for condition monitoring to ISO18436, The British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT) is the other body who has this ability.

The AINDT and BINDT has signed a memorandum of understanding and a strategic vision agreement which will ensure that both institutes utilise each other’s expertise and pooling of resources. One of the main achievements which will be made available is the cross recognition of Certification issued by both institutes and eventually the issuance of AINDT /PCN Certification on one certificate issued by either AINDT or BINDT . AINDT will accept examination results issued by BINDT as meeting the examination requirements of ISO18436.

British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT)

BINDT is an Accredited Certification Body offering personnel quality management systems assessment and certification for condition monitoring and non-destructive testing against criteria set out in International and European Standards through the PCN Certification Scheme.

Of all the certifying bodies within the European Federation of Non-Destructive Testing (EFNDT), BINDT is the only CB offering a suite of three levels in all four Condition Monitoring technologies (Vibration Analysis, Acoustic Emission, Infrared Thermography and Lubrication Management) specified in ISO 18436, offering certification compliant to this standard. Whilst ITC-Europe and ASNT offer an IRT certificate in accordance with EN473 or SNT-TC-1A, respectively, overall, BINDT continues to offer the only comprehensive third-party certification in CM globally.

Becoming a certified practitioner in compliance with ISO 18436 requires three steps:

  • Successful completion of the ITC training and ITC training examination (75% or above)
  • Applying to undertake an independent BINDT certification examination
  • Gaining the minimum experience requirements for the qualification level