New members elected to the University Alumni Council

The University of Melbourne Alumni Council, established in 2011, represents the interests of the University and alumni around the world. Elections took place last October, with 43 alumni choosing to nominate to run for six available places.

New Alumni Council

The elected nominees endorsed by the Vice-Chancellor were Mr William Bennett, Mr Scott Clarey, Ms Alison Currie, Dr Maria Dudycz, Ms Jane Wayland and Dr Rachel Baird. Two alumni – Mr Sean Armistead and Dr Jessie Wong – were also nominated by the Vice-Chancellor to join the Alumni Council.

Ms Margaret Quixley has accepted the role of President of the Alumni Council. She has been a member of the Council since 2015 and Deputy President since 2017.

“I am thrilled to be appointed,” says Margaret. “As President, I look forward to bringing the voices of alumni to the decision-making table. Through my tenure I hope to provide greater opportunities to connect students with the enormous potential of the alumni network, offering strategic guidance to the University and enhancing the student experience.

“The Alumni Council offers an important connection between the University and students old and new. We are both ambassadors promoting the wonderful work of the University to the broader community and championing the interests of alumni and current students alike.”

Find out more about the Alumni Council.

Margaret Quixley Alumni Council President Margaret Quixley