Hansen Scholarships help students realise their potential

The Hansen Scholarships for 2022 have been presented to some of Australia’s high-achieving students who face economic or other barriers, giving them the opportunity to study at the University of Melbourne for the full three years of a bachelor’s degree.

Hansen scholars

Hansen Scholarship Program Director, Associate Professor Heather Benbow (back row far left), Hansen Scholarship Program Patron, Jane Hansen (back row second left) and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Duncan Maskell (back row far right) with the 2022 Hansen Scholars. Image: Drew Echberg.

Hansen Scholarship Program Patron Jane Hansen and Vice-Chancellor Professor Duncan Maskell presented the 2022 scholarships – the University’s most generous – to students at a ceremony held at University Hall at the Old Quad.

The event also celebrated the 2021 Hansen Scholars, after they were unable to hold an event last year due to COVID-19.

Scholars receive a living allowance, mentoring and pastoral care, academic, cultural, career and other development opportunities. They reside in a purpose-built student residence, Little Hall, which opened in 2021.

Little Hall is a key element to the Hansen Scholarship Program and was made possible by a $30 million gift from Jane Hansen and Paul Little through their foundation. It features 669 bedrooms, multi-purpose study rooms, a cinema, a gymnasium, a rooftop terrace garden, a cafe and wi-fi throughout.

Ms Hansen said the scholarships would help these outstanding students from diverse backgrounds thrive at university and allow them to realise their potential.

“The Hansen Little Foundation was established with the vision of giving young Australians more opportunities to pursue their dreams,” Ms Hansen said.

“After two years of adversity, finishing their high school studies during a global pandemic, the accomplishments of these students, who have shown extraordinary resilience and resolve to achieve academic excellence, are even more exceptional. I’m delighted we could also welcome the 2021 Hansen Scholarship recipients, to honour their achievements in person.”

University of Melbourne Vice-Chancellor Duncan Maskell commended the Hansen Little Foundation for supporting the program.

“This year, another group of Hansen Scholars has been provided with a wonderful opportunity at the University of Melbourne thanks to the extraordinary generosity of Jane Hansen and Paul Little,” Professor Maskell said.

Jane and Paul have created a unique, all-encompassing scholarship program that provides young Australians with every resource to succeed at the University.

The 2021 Hansen Scholars are: Joshua Davis (Gleneagles Secondary College VIC), Albert Dong (Melbourne High School VIC), Amy Ferguson (Castlemaine Secondary College VIC), Coco Greenberg (McKinnon Secondary College VIC), Emily Grining (Hellyer College VIC), Hannah Harrison (Merewether High School NSW), Dominique-Dee Jones (Melton Secondary College VIC), Zoe Knight (The Friends’ School TAS), Ainsley Lea (Mountain Creek State High School QLD), Ating Maker (Thomas Carr College VIC), Zahra Mozaffari (John Monash Science School VIC), Mahnoor Naqvi (Coburg High School VIC), Samara Roy (Lourdes Hill College QLD), Arky Ryall (Trinity Catholic College Lismore NSW), Paige Samuel (St Columba’s College VIC), Ashjayeen Sharif (Queensland Academy for Science Mathematics and Technology QLD), Thomas Stevenson (Queensland Academy Creative Industries Campus QLD), Shanti Steventon-Lorenzen (Castlemaine Secondary College VIC), Ashleigh Stielow (Penrhos College WA), Evelyn Thompson (Gosford High School NSW).

The 2022 Hansen Scholars are: Matthew Bannon (Princes Hill Secondary College VIC), Harriet Chard (St Mary’s Catholic College Casino NSW), Cassandra Davidson (Victoria University Secondary College VIC), Ellie de van der Schueren (Trafalgar High School VIC), Mishal Farhan (Glen Waverley Secondary College VIC), Jacinta Fitzgerald (Clayfield College QLD), Adam Galletti (St Monica’s College Epping VIC), Emma Gerber (Mater Christi College VIC), Sophia Hayden (Dubbo College NSW), Katherine Herc (St Catherine’s School VIC), Isabelle Houghton (Strathmore Secondary College VIC), Stephanie Lee (John Monash Science School VIC), Esther Lian (Braybrook College VIC), Huda Mousawi (Epping Secondary College VIC), Florence Noble (Saint Ignatius College Geelong VIC), Kai Prideaux (King’s Christian College QLD), Holly Skordou (Brisbane State High School VIC), Ethan Spataro (Townsville State High School QLD), Hannah Wertiechowski (Marist-Sion College Warragul VIC).

Give Read more - Students & Alumni Impact